Trustees at
St. Michael's Hospice

St. Michael’s Hospice is governed by a Board of Trustees who are all volunteers. They meet each quarter to review performance and make strategic decisions about the future direction of the Hospice. The Board of Trustees is made up of individuals with various skills and expertise and is led by the Chair Andrew Chancellor. A list of the Trustees can be found below.

Trustees at St. Michael’s Hospice

Andrew Chancellor

Chair of the Board

Chris Burghes

Chris joined the Royal Free Charity, which supports the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust, as Chief Executive in 2010. Since then Chris has overseen the strategic change of the organisation from a grant making body to direct service provider and a rapid increase in income. Prior to that he held senior roles at the National Farmers’ Union and the Fire Fighters Charity.

Christian de Ferranti

Board member

Gary Fowle

Gary Fowle is a veteran of the technology industry having led businesses in Europe, Asia and North America. Most recently he was Vice President of Microsoft Devices business in North America before returning to the UK to found an independent consultancy specialising in interim CEO roles. Gary is currently the CEO of a leading technology company in Christchurch. 

Hugh Freeman

Board member

Melissa Poulter

Honorary Treasurer

Melissa is a qualified accountant with a commercial and operational background with over 30 years’ experience in a variety of roles across practice and industry. After 20 years at the AA, where she was a Trustee and Treasurer of the AA's charity, Melissa is now freelance. Melissa volunteered as a Trustee as she had seen first hand the great work and support the Hospice provides to patients and families in the local community.

Mike Reynolds

Mike is a Consultant Gastroenterologist at Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital. His clinical practice involves the management of patients with complex symptoms,advanced endoscopy and the investigating and palliation of patients with life limiting conditions. Mike’s background is in medical education, medical ethics and exploring the interface of spirituality in the clinical setting.

David Salisbury

Has spent over 40 years in investment management in a variety of professional and management roles. He hopes to contribute to the Board of Trustees on general management issues as well as to the Finance Committee.

Suzie Scott-Malden

Board member

Anne Stebbing

Anne is a consultant general surgeon at Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital. She has a special interest in breast and minor paediatric surgery and set up and developed the one-stop clinic for breast cancer, providing same day mammography, ultrasound and biopsy. She currently works part-time for Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and is a non-executive director for South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust, where she is chair of the Quality and Safety Committee.

Eugenie Verney

Eugenie's professional background is print journalism and in a career spanning 30 years she worked for — among others — The Guardian, Daily Express, Daily Mail, and Daily Mirror. She then moved into local government corporate communications, reputation management, and media relations. In 2008, she set up her own marketing and PR consultancy and focuses on clients who want to be open, honest, and fully authentic with their customers.